No Medical Evidence Supports Increased Effectiveness of Vegetarian Glucosamine Supplements


Portland, OR -- (SBWIRE) -- 09/22/2014 -- Many individuals who aren’t vegetarian or allergic to shellfish are switching to a vegetarian glucosamine supplement thinking it’s safer and more effective. Studies have clearly demonstrated those claims are in error, yet people with joint pain continue to pay a premium price for products that are no more effective than those that obtain glucosamine from shellfish.

“Vegetarian glucosamine supplements typically obtain their glucosamine from corn,” said VitaBreeze spokesperson, Michelle O’Sullivan. “While it may sound safer, corn-derived glucosamine has a variety of side effects and issues that consumers should be aware of before using it. The only real difference in a vegetarian supplement and one made with shellfish is the source of the glucosamine.”

Research has shown that glucosamine distilled and fermented from corn (and sometimes wheat) can cause drowsiness, headache and nausea, along with digestive upsets that include heartburn, constipation and diarrhea. Medical professionals are now recognizing corn as a previously overlooked source of food allergies.

Approximately 2 percent of the U.S. population has an allergy to corn and products containing corn. Symptoms of a corn allergy are the same as for other foods, encompassing hives, itching and rash. An allergic reaction can also be a life-threatening situation that impairs the ability to breathe.

Glucosamine is a naturally occurring chemical substance that the body manufactures. It’s used to nourish and build cartilage that keeps joints moving smoothly and without pain. It’s a substance that’s obtained naturally from shellfish, but can also be created in the laboratory from corn as part of the manufacturing process. When vegetables are cooked, it destroys the glucosamine content.

Medical studies have proven that people with a diagnosed allergy to shellfish are actually reacting to substances in the flesh of the shellfish. The glucosamine used in dietary supplements is obtained from the shells of the invertebrates. For safety’s sake, producers of supplements that contain any ingredients from shellfish still include warnings on their labels.

There is no medical evidence to support the claim that a vegetarian glucosamine supplement is more effective than one derived from shellfish. Both provide the same benefits, though vegetarian supplements are typically more expensive than those with shellfish, making them harder on consumers’ wallets.

For those who are not vegan or vegetarian, experts generally recommend non-vegetarian glucosamine supplements that are more widely available on sites such as

About VitaBreeze
VitaBreeze is a nutraceutical brand that manufactures high-quality natural supplements to help people live a healthy, enjoyable and longer life. All of the company’s products are manufactured in the United States using the finest quality ingredients that have been carefully selected, tested and crafted into the firm’s formulas. Visit to learn more.

Benjamin Lasance